Six file for vacant House seat

Six candidates have filed to run in the May 1 election for the District 93 seat left vacant by Karen Carter Peterson’s election to the state Senate, according to Secretary of State Jay Dardenne’s office. The candidates are Louis Charbonnet III, Rhodesia Jackson Douglas, Carlos J. Hornbrook, Helena Moreno, James Perry and Thomas Robichaux. All six are Democrats. The district primarily represents the Central Business District, French Quarter and Mid City, but a portion in the Garden District (east of Toledano between St. Charles and Constance) abuts the Uptown.

Uptown area election results

Two Uptown-area races were decided by wide margins in the Feb. 6 election, according to secretary of state Jay Dardenne’s office. Stacy Head won back the District B seat on the New Orleans City Council over challenger Corey Watson with 67 percent of the vote. State Rep. Karen Carter Peterson won Louisiana Senate District 5 seat over Irma Muse Dixon with 78 percent of the vote, filling the remainder of Cheryl Gray Evans’ unexpired term. City Council, District B:

Stacy Head (D), 10,132 (67%)
Corey Watson (D), 5,021 (33%)
(Turnout: 29.7%)

State Senator, District 5:

Karen Carter Peterson (D), 13,509 (78%)
Irma Muse Dixon, 3,734 (22%)
(Turnout: 31.1%)

Touro Bouligny Security District

Yes, 617 (81%)
No, 142 (19%)
(Turnout: 39.7%)