Jul 102010

The number of candidates running for a number of seats in this year’s elections swelled on Friday, the last day of filing, as area Congressmen drew new challengers and a crowd of Democrats joined the race for lieutenant governor.U.S. Rep. Steve Scalise, who had previously appeared uncontested, drew two challengers on Friday. New Orleans resident Myron Katz filed as the only Democratic candidate, and Arden Wells of Ponchatoula filed as a third-party candidate.

A number of new challengers to Republican U.S. Rep. Ahn Cao also jumped in, including a primary challenger, Norman Paul Billiott. Eugene Green and Gary Johnson will join state Reps. Cedric Richmond and Juan LaFonta in the Democratic Party primary. Ron Austin of Harvey filed as a third-party candidate, and Jack Radosta of New Orleans filed without party affiliation.

Four Democrats joined the race for lieutenant governor, which had previously been dominated by five Republicans. They are Kenneth “Ken” Burkhalter of Slidell (D), James “Jim” Crowley of Shreveport, Caroline Fayard of New Orleans and state Sen. “Butch” Gautreaux of Morgan City.

U.S. Sen. David Vitter drew two challengers for the Aug. 28 Republican primary, Nick J. Accardo of Franklin and former state Supreme Court Justice Chet D. Traylor of Monroe. Also filing for U.S. Senate were:

  • Neeson J. Chauvin Jr. of Carencro (D)
  • Randall Todd Hayes of Atlanta, La. (Libertarian)
  • William R. McShan of Leesville (Reform)
  • R. A. “Skip” Galan of Ponchatoula (No Party)
  • Milton Gordon of Alexandria (No Party)
  • Thomas G. “Tommy” LaFargue of Baton Rouge (Other)
  • State Rep. Ernest D. Wooton of Belle Chasse (Other)

John F. Schwegmann of Metairie became the only challenger for the Public Service Commission District 3 seat.

Democrats Jacqueline Carroll-Gilds and Amy Kern joined the race for a Juvenile Court seat, and Mark Michael Gonzalez joined the race for  1st City Court, Section C, with no party affiliation.

See a complete list of candidates who have filed.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.